Photo Release: Governor Brown and First Lady Honor 2017 California Hall of Fame Inductees


Picture Picture Picture Picture

SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. and First Lady Anne Gust Brown joined the California Museum to award the Spirit of California medal to nine Californians inducted into the 11th class of the California Hall of Fame this evening.

The California Hall of Fame 11th class inductees are: entertainer Lucille Ball; bioscientist Susan Desmond-Hellmann; artist and activist Mabel McKay; atmospheric chemist Mario J. Molina; quarterback Jim Plunkett; poet Gary Snyder; filmmaker Steven Spielberg; musician Michael Tilson Thomas and vintner Warren Winiarski.

“These are people with beautiful minds and I think we should enjoy them and take some inspiration,” said Governor Brown. “This is California in its very diverse expression.”

Inductees and family members of posthumous inductees received the Spirit of California medal from the Governor and First Lady in the official state ceremony this evening at the California Museum in downtown Sacramento. In addition to the ceremony, inductees will be commemorated with an exhibition of artifacts highlighting their lives and achievements, which opens to the public at 10:00 a.m. tomorrow, Wednesday, December 6 at the California Museum.

This year’s recipients join 104 Californians previously inducted into the California Hall of Fame for making remarkable achievements across a variety of California industries and areas of influence, including science, philanthropy, sports, business, entertainment, the arts, literature, technology, activism and politics.

For more information on the California Hall of Fame, visit

Photo Credit captions:

1.) Governor Brown and California Hall of Fame inductee Steven Spielberg.
2.) From left to right: Kate Luckinbill Conner (representing Lucille Ball); Susan Desmond-Hellmann; Marshall McKay (representing Mabel McKay); Mario J. Molina; Jim Plunkett; Governor Brown; First Lady Anne Gust Brown; Gary Snyder; Steven Spielberg; Michael Tilson Thomas; and Warren Winiarski.
3.) Governor Brown, First Lady Anne Gust Brown and Marshall McKay, representing California Hall of Fame inductee Mabel McKay.
4.) Governor Brown delivers remarks at 2017 California Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

Photo credit: Joe McHugh, California Highway Patrol. For high resolution copies of these images, contact Danella Debel at