Governor Brown Issues Legislative Update


SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. today announced that he has signed the following bills:

– AB 428 by Assemblymember Sebastian Ridley-Thomas (D-Los Angeles) – Local government: the Ralph M. Brown Act.
– AB 549 by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward) – Local government: building permit: electrified security fence: notice.
– AB 602 by Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Alameda) – Pharmacy: nonprescription diabetes test devices.
– AB 759 by Assemblymember Brian Dahle (R-Bieber) – Electricity: electrical cooperatives: integrated resource plan.
– AB 818 by Assemblymember Autumn R. Burke (D-Inglewood) – CalWORKs: welfare to work.
– AB 846 by Assemblymember Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova) – Voluntary contributions: California YMCA Youth and Government Voluntary Tax Contribution Fund.
– AB 861 by Assemblymember Brian Dahle (R-Bieber) – Africanized honey bees.
– AB 933 by the Committee on Agriculture – Food and agriculture omnibus bill.
– AB 1014 by Assemblymember Jim Cooper (D-Elk Grove) – Diesel backup generators: health facility.
– AB 1021 by Assemblymember Catharine Baker (R-Dublin) – In-home supportive services: application.
– AB 1057 by Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber (D-San Diego) – Armories: sales: San Diego Armory.
– AB 1139 by Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-San Bernardino) – Real property: transfer fees: notices.
– AB 1218 by Assemblymember Jay P. Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake) – California Environmental Quality Act: exemption: bicycle transportation plans.
– AB 1381 by Assemblymember Jay P. Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake) – Funeral establishments: apprenticeship training.
– AB 1456 by Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Campbell) – Professional licensure.
– AB 1480 by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward) – Pest control: violations and penalties: civil penalty.
– AB 1486 by Assemblymember Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) – Milk products: licenses: fees.
– AB 1523 by Assemblymember Jay P. Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake) – San Bernardino County Transportation Authority: design-build.
– AB 1572 by Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters) – Integrated waste management plans: source reduction and recycling element: review schedule.
– AB 1615 by Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) – Gender discrimination: civil actions.
– AB 1616 by Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian (D-Sherman Oaks) – Alarm companies: liability: false alarm.
– AB 1633 by Assemblymember Jim L. Frazier Jr. (D-Discovery Bay) – State highways: exit information signs.
– AB 1689 by the Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials – Business plans: combustible metals.
– AB 1690 by the Committee on Judiciary – Personal rights: compensatory relief.
– SB 332 by Senator Henry Stern (D-Agoura Hills) – Voter registration: foster youth.
– SB 374 by Senator Josh Newman (D-Fullerton) – Health insurance: discriminatory practices: mental health.
– SB 466 by Senator Patricia C. Bates (R-Laguna Niguel) – Rental passenger vehicle transactions: electronic surveillance technology: AMBER Alert.
– SB 624 by Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton) – Property taxation: liens: recordation.

The Governor also announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

– AB 860 by Assemblymember Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova) – Mental Health Services Oversight and Accountability Commission: factfinding tour. A veto message can be found here.
– AB 1091 by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward) – Balloons: electrically conductive material. A veto message can be found here.
– AB 1261 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park) – Pupil discipline: pupil suicide prevention. A veto message can be found here.

For full text of the bills, visit: