Governor Brown Issues Legislative Update


SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. today announced that he has signed the following bills:

– AB 37 by Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell (D-Long Beach) – Pupil instruction: visual and performing arts: content standards in media arts.
– AB 78 by Assemblymember Jim Cooper (D-Elk Grove) – Vessels: operation and equipment: blue lights.
– AB 94 by Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona) – Corporation Tax Law: exemption: veteran’s organizations.
– AB 170 by Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell (D-Long Beach) – Teacher credentialing.
– AB 195 by Assemblymember Jay P. Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake) – Local initiative measures: ballot printing specifications.
– AB 214 by Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber (D-San Diego) – Postsecondary education: student hunger.
– AB 289 by Assemblymember Adam Gray (D-Merced) – Office of Emergency Services: State Emergency Plan: update.
– AB 545 by Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals) – Joint powers agreements: County of El Dorado: nonprofit hospitals.
– AB 585 by Assemblymember Mike A. Gipson (D-Carson) – Public officers.
– AB 590 by Assemblymember Jose Medina (D-Riverside) – Public employees’ retirement: membership election.
– AB 591 by Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell (D-Long Beach) – School property: lease: county boards of education.
– AB 619 by Assemblymember Brian Dahle (R-Bieber) – Sierra Lakes County Water District.
– AB 673 by Assemblymember Kansen Chu (D-San Jose) – Public transit operators: bus procurement: safety considerations.
– AB 690 by Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva (D-Fullerton) – Common interest developments: managers: conflicts of interest.
– AB 695 by Assemblymember Raul Bocanegra (D-San Fernando) – Avoidance of on-track equipment.
– AB 895 by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward) – Political Reform Act of 1974: campaign statements: filing.
– AB 911 by Assemblymember Jim Wood (D-Healdsburg) – Radioactive materials: licensing and registration: exemption.
– AB 1093 by Assemblymember Phillip Chen (R-Diamond Bar) – Service of process.
– AB 1126 by the Committee on Agriculture – Pesticides: carbon monoxide.
– AB 1191 by Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals) – California Tahoe Conservancy.
– AB 1226 by Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento) – River port districts: Sacramento-Yolo Port District.
– AB 1338 by Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Campbell) – Vehicles: specialized license plates.
– AB 1354 by Assemblymember Kevin Kiley (R-Roseville) – Pupil instruction: repeal of programs.
– AB 1440 by Assemblymember Ash Kalra (D-San Jose) – Peace officers.
– AB 1693 by the Committee on Judiciary – Civil actions: intervention.
– AB 1695 by the Committee on Insurance – Unemployment insurance.
– AB 1730 by the Committee on Elections and Redistricting – Elections omnibus bill.
– SB 228 by Senator Bill Dodd (D-Napa) – Alcoholic beverage control: public schoolhouses.
– SB 315 by Senator Janet Nguyen (R-Garden Grove) – California Massage Therapy Council: material for non-English speakers.
– SB 387 by Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-Santa Barbara) – The False Claims Act.
– SB 413 by Senator Mike L. Morrell (R-Rancho Cucamonga) – Dementia: major neurocognitive disorder.
– SB 447 by Senator Jim W. Nielsen (R-Gerber) – Property taxes: equalization: multicounty assessment appeals boards.
– SB 755 by Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose) – Civil discovery: mental examination.

The Governor also announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

– AB 431 by Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals) – Armories: homeless shelter. A veto message can be found here.
– AB 446 by Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals) – Instructional materials: disposal of obsolete instructional materials. A veto message can be found here.
– AB 1472 by Assemblymember Monique Limόn (D-Santa Barbara) – Public lands: assignments and transfers: oil, gas, and mineral leases. A veto message can be found here.
– SB 644 by Senator Jeff E. Stone (R-Temecula) – Vessels: impoundment. A veto message can be found here.

For full text of the bills, visit: