Governor Brown Issues Legislative Update


SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. today announced that he has signed the following bills:

• AB 587 by Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Arcadia) – Mobilehomes: payments: nonpayment or late payments.
• AB 1014 by Assemblymember Tony Thurmond (D-Richmond) – Education finance: Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund: Learning Communities for School Success Program.
• AB 1500 by Assemblymember Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) – State highways: relinquishment: Route 75.
• AB 1567 by Assemblymember Nora Campos (D-San Jose) – Before and after school programs: enrollment: fees: homeless and foster youth: snacks or meals.
• AB 1577 by Assemblymember Susan Talamantes Eggman (D-Stockton) – CalFood Program: CalFood Account.
• AB 1794 by Assemblymember Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens) – Central Basin Municipal Water District.
• AB 1797 by Assemblymember Tom W. Lackey (R-Palmdale) – In-home supportive services: application.
• AB 1826 by Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley) – Organic products.
• AB 1840 by Assemblymember Mike A. Gipson (D-Carson) – State agencies: interns and student assistants: hiring preference.
• AB 1962 by Assemblymember Bill Dodd (D-Napa) – Criminal proceedings: mental competence.
• AB 1974 by Assemblymember James M. Gallagher (R-Plumas Lake) – County recorder: recordation of documents.
• AB 1995 by Assemblymember Das G. Williams (D-Santa Barbara) – Community colleges: homeless students: access to shower facilities.
• AB 2022 by Assemblymember Richard S. Gordon (D-Menlo Park) – Advanced purified demonstration water.
• AB 2025 by Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) – Barbering and cosmetology: labor law education requirements.
• AB 2105 by Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona) – Workforce development: allied health professions.
• AB 2194 by Assemblymember Rudy Salas Jr. (D-Bakersfield) – California Massage Therapy Council: business of massage.
• AB 2212 by Assemblymember Matthew Harper (R-Huntington Beach) – Pupils: suspensions and expulsions: bullying: electronic acts: video.
• AB 2249 by Assemblymember Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova) – State parks.
• AB 2280 by Assemblymember Sebastian Ridley-Thomas (D-Los Angeles) – Rental companies: customer facility charge.
• AB 2375 by the Committee on Public Employees, Retirement, and Social Security – Public Employees’ Retirement System: omnibus bill.
• AB 2414 by Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) – Desert Healthcare District.
• AB 2455 by Assemblymember David S. Chiu (D-San Francisco) – Voter registration: public postsecondary educational institutions: California New Motor Voter Program.
• AB 2524 by Assemblymember Jacqui V. Irwin (D-Thousand Oaks) – OpenJustice Data Act of 2016.
• AB 2536 by Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Arcadia) – Pupil discipline and safety: cyber sexual bullying.
• AB 2584 by Assemblymember Tom F. Daly (D-Anaheim) – Land use: housing development.
• AB 2737 by Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Alameda) – Nonprovider health care districts.
• AB 2911 by the Committee on Elections and Redistricting – Voting: voter information guides.
• AB 2913 by the Committee on Governmental Organization – Alcoholic beverages: licensees: craft distillers: tied-house restrictions.
• SB 543 by Senator Lois Wolk (D-Davis) – Veterans: Veterans’ Home of California.
• SB 909 by Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose) – Property tax postponement: special needs trust claimants.
• SB 953 by Senator Ricardo Lara (D-Bell Gardens) – Central Basin Municipal Water District.
• SB 1051 by Senator Loni Hancock (D-Berkeley) – Vehicles: parking enforcement: video image evidence.
• SB 1059 by Senator William W. Monning (D-Carmel) – Postsecondary education: Title 38 awards.
• SB 1226 by Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose) – Regional centers: audits and reviews.
• SB 1295 by Senator Jim W. Nielsen (R-Gerber) – Mentally ill prisoners.

Governor Brown also announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

• AB 1739 by Assemblymember Marie Waldron (R-Escondido) – Medi-Cal: allergy testing. A veto message can be found here.
• AB 1952 by Assemblymember Richard S. Gordon (D-Menlo Park) – Property tax postponement. A veto message can be found here.
• AB 2386 by Assemblymember Das G. Williams (D-Santa Barbara) – Postsecondary education: California State University: trustees. A veto message can be found here.
• AB 2805 by Assemblymember Kristin M. Olsen (R-Modesto) – Cargo theft: working group. A veto message can be found here.

For full text of the bills, visit: