Photo Release: 2015 California Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony


Picture Picture Picture

SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. and First Lady Anne Gust Brown joined the California Museum to award the Spirit of California medal to eight Californians inducted into the California Hall of Fame this evening.

This year’s inductees, who exemplify California’s spirit of innovation, are: acclaimed actor Robert Downey Jr., celebrated artist David Hockney, journalist and news anchor Lester Holt, martial arts superstar Bruce Lee, space pioneer Ellen Ochoa, country music icon Buck Owens, legendary cartoonist Charles M. Schulz and Olympic gold medalist Kristi Yamaguchi.

“California continuously reinvents itself and the people we honor have that combination of tradition, innovation and, of course, creativity,” said Governor Brown at the California Museum this evening.
Inductees and family members of posthumous inductees received the Spirit of California medal from the Governor and First Lady in the official state ceremony this evening at the California Museum in downtown Sacramento.

In addition to receiving the Spirit of California medal, California Hall of Fame inductees will be commemorated with an exhibit of personal artifacts highlighting their lives and achievements, which opens to the public at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, October 29, 2015 at the California Museum.

This year’s medal recipients join 88 Californians previously inducted into the California Hall of Fame for making remarkable achievements across a variety of California industries and areas of influence, including science, philanthropy, sports, business, entertainment, literature, technology, activism and politics.

For more information on the California Hall of Fame, please visit

Photo captions:

1.) Governor Brown, First Lady Anne Gust Brown and California Hall of Fame inductee Robert Downey Jr.
2.) Governor Brown gives remarks at the 2015 California Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
3.) The ninth class of California Hall of Fame Inductees. From left to right: Robert Downey Jr., David Hockney, Lester Holt, Shannon Lee (representing Bruce Lee), First Lady Anne Gust Brown, Governor Brown, Ellen Ochoa, John Owens (representing Buck Owens), Jean Schulz (representing Charles Schulz) and Kristi Yamaguchi.

Photo Credit: Joe McHugh, California Highway Patrol. For high resolution copies of these images, contact Danella Debel at