Governor Brown Issues Legislative Update


SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. today announced that he has signed the following bills:

• AB 179 by Assemblymember Susan Bonilla (D-Concord) – Healing arts.
• AB 260 by Assemblymember Patty Lopez (D-San Fernando) – Foster care: parenting youth.
• AB 315 by Assemblymember Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals) – Tribal gaming: compact ratification.
• AB 413 by Assemblymember Rocky Chávez (R-Oceanside) – California Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise Program.
• AB 433 by Assemblymember Kansen Chu (D-San Jose) – Public social services: CalWORKs.
• AB 438 by Assemblymember David S. Chiu (D-San Francisco) – State government: workers’ compensation: compensation.
• AB 502 by Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Arcadia) – Dental hygiene.
• AB 527 by Assemblymember Bill Dodd (D-Napa) – Alcoholic beverage control: tied-house restrictions: advertising.
• AB 670 by Assemblymember Jacqui V. Irwin (D-Thousand Oaks) – Information technology security.
• AB 776 by Assemblymember Jim Cooper (D-Elk Grove) – Alcoholic beverage control.
• AB 795 by Assemblymember Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) – Tribal gaming: compact ratification.
• AB 856 by Assemblymember Ian C. Calderon (D-Whittier) – Invasion of privacy.
• AB 964 by Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Arcadia) – Civil law: privacy.
• AB 1024 by Assemblymember Beth Gaines (R-Roseville) – Driving schools.
• AB 1116 by the Committee on Privacy and Consumer Protection – Connected televisions.
• AB 1124 by Assemblymember Henry T. Perea (D-Fresno) – Workers’ compensation: prescription medication formulary.
• AB 1178 by Assemblymember Katcho Achadjian (R-San Luis Obispo) – Vehicles: manufacturers and distributors.
• AB 1320 by Assemblymember Brian Maienschein (R-San Diego) – Alcoholic beverages: tied-house restrictions: advertising.
• AB 1337 by Assemblymember Eric F. Linder (R-Corona) – Medical records: electronic delivery.
• AB 1374 by Assemblymember Marc B. Levine (D-San Rafael) – Psychologists: licensure.
• AB 1411 by Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) – Fire protection: type 1 clothes dryers.
• AB 1540 by Assemblymember Adam Gray (D-Merced) – Tribal gaming: compact ratification.
• SB 34 by Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo) – Automated license plate recognition systems: use of data.
• SB 193 by the Committee on Veterans Affairs – The state militia.
• SB 238 by Senator Holly J. Mitchell (D-Los Angeles) – Foster care: psychotropic medication.
• SB 319 by Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose) – Child welfare services: public health nursing.
• SB 337 by Senator Fran Pavley (D-Agoura Hills) – Physician assistants.
• SB 387 by Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-Santa Barbara) – State Bar: attorneys: annual membership fees: meetings: public records.
• SB 416 by Senator Bob Huff (R-San Dimas) – Public schools: elementary and secondary education.
• SB 451 by Senator Ricardo Lara (D-Bell Gardens) – Pupil instruction and services: educational counseling.
• SB 484 by Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose) – Juveniles.
• SB 540 by Senator Robert M. Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys) – Franchise Tax Board: Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate.
• SB 542 by Senator Tony Mendoza (D-Artesia) – Workers’ compensation: medical provider networks: fee schedules.
• SB 570 by Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-Santa Barbara) – Personal information: privacy: breach.
• SB 575 by Senator Carol Liu (D-La Cañada Flintridge) – Long-term care insurance.
• SB 671 by Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo) – Pharmacy: biological product.

Governor Brown also announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

• AB 305 by Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) – Workers’ compensation: permanent disability apportionment. A veto message can be found here.
• AB 764 by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward) – Parking lots: design: insurance discount. A veto message can be found here.
• AB 1542 by Assemblymember Devon J. Mathis (R-Visalia) – Workers’ compensation: neuropsychologists. A veto message can be found here.

For full text of the bills, visit: