Office of the Governor and The California Museum Announce 8th Class of Inductees to the California Hall of Fame


Picture Picture Picture

Induction ceremony took place on October, 1 2014 at The California Museum in Sacramento, CA

SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. and First Lady Anne Gust Brown along with The California Museum announced the 8th class of inductees to the California Hall of Fame today. The newest class of inspirational individuals will join 81 Californians previously inducted for exemplifying California’s spirit of innovation.

The 8th class of California Hall of Fame inductees includes: basketball superstar Kareem Abdul-Jabbar; civil-rights heroine Charlotta Bass; literary icon Joan Didion; legendary filmmaker Francis Ford Coppola; community organizer Fred Ross; environmental scientist Stephen Schneider; social-activism innovator Mimi Silbert; and groundbreaking music industry entrepreneurs Andre “Dr. Dre” Young and Jimmy Iovine.

“These talented pioneers represent the very best of California,” said Governor Brown. “Their determination, intelligence and creativity continue to inspire us.”

Inductees and family members of posthumous inductees will receive a Spirit of California medal from the Governor and First Lady in the official state ceremony on Wednesday, October 1, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. at The California Museum, located at 1020 O Street in Sacramento.

“I am honored to be chosen for the California Hall of Fame,” said inductee Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. “It is a significant achievement to join the ranks of the other honorees. They have set an example of achievement that every Californian can admire and emulate.”

Inductees into the California Hall of Fame have made remarkable achievements across a variety of California industries and areas of influence including science, philanthropy, sports, business, entertainment, literature, technology, activism and politics. In addition to the ceremony, inductees will also be commemorated with an exhibit of personal artifacts highlighting their lives and achievements, which opens to the public at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, October 2, 2014 at The California Museum.

“The Museum is thrilled to honor this new class of remarkable Californians,” said Richard Costigan III, Chair of The California Museum’s Board of Trustees. “Each reflects the ingenuity and creativity that California is known for in their respected fields, while as a class they represent the diversity that California is celebrated for around the world.”

Members of the public are invited to view the arrivals of the inductees and ceremony attendees on Wednesday, October 1, 2014 from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. in a public-viewing area located in front of the Museum on the corner of 10th and O Streets. Immediately following the viewing of arrivals, a live webcast of the induction ceremony will be streamed on the Museum’s website at at 7:00 p.m.

A broadcast of the 7th Annual California Hall of Fame induction ceremony and presentation of Spirit of California awards will air on PBS stations across California beginning at 12:00 p.m. on Sunday, July 6, including on KVIE in Sacramento. For a full list of stations, dates and air times, please visit

For more information on the California Hall of Fame and The California Museum and a downloadable press kit, please visit

Photo captions can be found below:

1.)The eighth class of California Hall of Fame Inductees
From left to right: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Emerson Wilkins (representing Charlotta Bass), Francis Ford Coppola, Susan Traylor (representing Joan Didion), Fred Ross Jr. (representing Fred Ross Sr.), Terry Root (representing Stephen Schneider), Mimi Silbert, Jimmy Iovine, Andre “Dr. Dre” Young.
2.)Governor Brown with Mimi Silbert and Fred Ross Jr.
3.)Governor Brown delivers remarks at the 2014 California Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

Photo Credit: Brad Alexander, Office of the Governor. For high resolution copies of these photos, please contact Danella Debel, Office of the Governor at