Governor Brown Takes Action to Maintain and Improve Transportation Systems


SACRAMENTO – Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. announced today that he has taken action on legislation to maintain and improve transportation systems in California.

The following bills have been signed by Governor Brown:

• AB 238 by Assemblymember Alyson L. Huber (D-El Dorado Hills) – Motor vehicle conditional sale contracts.
• AB 427 by Assemblymember John A. Pérez (D-Los Angeles) – Transportation bond funds: transit system safety.
• AB 529 by Assemblymember Mike Gatto (D-Burbank) – Vehicles: speed limits: downward speed zoning.
• AB 607 by Assemblymember Julia Brownley (D-Santa Monica) – Vehicles: public transit buses: illuminated signs.
• AB 615 by Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal (D-Long Beach) – High-speed rail.
• AB 621 by Assemblymember Charles Calderon (D-Whittier) – Vehicle rental agreements.
• AB 628 by Assemblymember Connie Conway (R-Visalia) – Vehicles: off-highway vehicle recreation: County of Inyo.
• AB 706 by Assemblymember Norma J. Torres (D-Pomona) – Metro Gold Line Foothill Extension Construction Authority.
• AB 716 by Assemblymember Roger Dickinson (D-Sacramento) – Transit districts: prohibition orders: Sacramento Regional Transit District: Fresno Area Express: San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District.
• AB 957 by Committee on Transportation – Transportation omnibus bill.
• AB 1143 by Assemblymember Roger Dickinson (D-Sacramento) – Sacramento Regional Transit District: bonds.
• AB 1298 by Assemblymember Robert Blumenfield (D-Van Nuys) – Vehicles: parking: mobile billboard advertising displays.
• SB 468 by Senator Christine Kehoe (D-San Diego) – Department of Transportation: north coast corridor project: high-occupancy toll lanes.

The Governor also Announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

• SB 29 by Senator Joe Simitian (D-Palo Alto) – Vehicles: automated traffic enforcement systems. A veto message can be found here.
• SB 910 by Senator Alan Lowenthal (D-Long Beach) – Vehicles: bicycles: passing distance. A veto message can be found here.

For full text of the bills, visit: